University of Wyoming Extension News

Wyoming State 4-H Foundation announces $62,000 in scholarships

4-H logoMore than $62,000 in scholarships has been awarded for the 2014-2015 academic year by the Wyoming State 4-H Foundation.

Approximately $30,000 was awarded to first-time winners. Students from the University of Wyoming and Wyoming community colleges will receive monetary support toward continuing their education.

Previous winners of the Ella Scholoredt scholarship with a grade point average of atleast 3.0 are eligible for up to four years. Sixteen continuing scholarships were awarded ranging from $1,500 to $2,500.

The following are separated by scholarship, county and in no particular order:

 Ella E. Schloredt continuing awards

Albany – McKensie Harris, $2,200; Atussa Niswender, $1,500

Campbell – Hannah Gorman, $2,000

Goshen – Alexandra Howell, $1,900; Taylor Wollert, $2,000; Aleighica Keeran, $1,750

Johnson – Jordan Largent, $1,500

Laramie – Jacob Berg, $2,000; Shelby Kindsvater, $1,750; Cortney Robertson, $1,900

Natrona – Mackenzie McCoy, $2,000

Niobrara – Zachary Stephens, $1,750

Sublette – Jenny Beiermann, $2,200; Emilee Sims, $2,000

Teton – Kyle Brimeyer, $1,500

Washakie – Landan Doyle, $1,900

Continue reading

Wyoming State 4-H Foundation awards $28,000 in first-time scholarships

More than $28,000 in scholarships has been awarded to first-time recipients by the Wyoming State 4-H Foundation, according to foundation director Steve Mack.

The first-time awards are in addition to more than $36,000 in continuing scholarships being used by previous recipients, he said. Scholarship amounts can increase dependent upon scholarship progress and grade point average.

First-time recipients by scholarship and county are:

Ella E. Schloredt ($1,750)

Taylor Hammer, Eagle, Colo.; Hannah Gorman, Campbell; Alexandra Howell, Taylor Wollert, Goshen; Jordan Largent, Johnson; Rebel Rauterkus, Lincoln; Landan Doyle, Washakie.

Wyoming 4-H Foundation ($1,250)

Caitlin Harris, Platte; Ty Malone, Uinta

Lael Harrison ($1,000)

Jaimie Lee, Fremont; Aleighica Keeran, Goshen;

Janie Smith (Laramie County – $1,000)

Kelley Fisher, Laramie

Farmhouse Foundation ($1,000)

Lane Robinson, Johnson

Edna Mae and Wallace McClaflin ($1,000)

Tawny Bugas, Uinta

Wallace Scholarship (Park or Big Horn – $750)

Morgan Flitner, Big Horn

Wilbur Brettell (Laramie County – $500)

Kelley Fisher, Laramie

W.D. Whitmire Leadership Scholarship ($500)

Maddy Morgan, Colter Otwell, Campbell; Rebel Rauterkus, Lincoln; Jace Musfelt, Niobrara; Shaylee Little, Sheridan; Landan Doyle, Washakie.

Murdoch’s Ranch and Home Supply ($500)

Colby Hales, Albany; Dylan Freeman, Laramie; Sarah Peterson, Uinta.

Peterson Scholarship (Crook County – $500)

Kyle Wood, Crook

F.A.I.R. Posse ($500)

Blake Ochsner, Goshen

J.M. Nicholls ($300)

Nicole Goddard, Natrona

Butterfield Scholarship (Washakie County – $300)

Landan Doyle, Washakie

Wyoming Veterinary Sciences ($250)

Carolyn Smylie, Converse